2023 Grant Recipients

The AOM is pleased to announce another successful year of the Midwifery Research Grants program! Congratulations to Registered Midwives Bounmy Inthavong and Vanessa Hébert whose projects support client-centred care and capture the experiences of midwives and midwifery clients alike.

BORN Data Access Research Grant recipient

Headshot of Vanessa Herbert

Vanessa Hébert

Vanessa Hébert is a registered midwife currently pursuing a PhD in Health Research Methodology (HRM) at McMaster University. With mentorship from Dr. Liz Darling and Dr. Giulia Muraca, her study will use data from BORN to investigate the effectiveness of oxytocin prophylaxis on reducing the risk of postpartum hemorrhage in individuals under midwifery care with physiologic labour and birth.

Project Midwifery Research Grant recipient

Headshot of Bounmy Inthavong

Bounmy Inthavong

Bounmy Inthavong is a Registered Midwife at St Jacobs Midwives who is currently pursuing a Masters in Health Policy and Equity at York University. This project aims to capture the stories of disabled midwifery students from marginalized identities to gain a deeper understanding of their education and clinical placements needs.

Past Recipients

Year Career Midwifery Research Grant Mentored Midwifery Research Grant
2022 Claire Dion Fletcher, RM Susana Ku, RM, PhD candidate
Kambili Husbands, RM, MA
Sophia Kehler, RM
Simone Rosenberg, RM

Mary Sharpe, RM, PhD
Wendy St. Laurent-Coutts, RM, NP-PHC/MPH, BScN, Doctoral student (Ed.)

Abigail Corbin, RM
Ayeshah Haque, RM, MSc candidate
Jessica Jones, RM, MPH candidate 

Karline Wilson-Michell, CNM, RM, DrNP, MSN
Liz Darling, RM, MSc, PhD

Angela Freeman, MSc candidate 
Kate Demers, MMid

Andrea Robertson, RM, MA PhD candidate
Erica Elderhorst, RM, MSc candidate  

Emma Seager, RM, MSc(c)  


Nicole Bennett, RM, PhD candidate
Liz Darling, RM, PhD
Beth Murray-Davis, RM, PhD
Mary Sharpe, RM, PhD

Jen Goldberg, RM, MPH candidate
Ali McCallum, RM, MSc & Jenna Robertson Bly, RM, MA Angela Reitsma, RM, MSc
2017 Liz Darling, RM, PhD Erica Elderhorst, RM
Erika Arsenault, MSc & Sam Landry, MSc