Excellence in Midwifery Leadership Award

The Excellence in Midwifery Leadership Award annually recognizes our exceptional midwifery leaders who have made outstanding, far reaching and long-lasting contributions to our profession over their careers. One award is available per year.

Click here to see a list of previous winners (formerly called the Lifetime Achievement Award).


Nominees for this award should have: 

  • Demonstrated extraordinary achievements in the field of midwifery that distinguishes them from others in the profession. The impact of their contributions may be in the areas of Indigenous health, Indigenous sovereignty, racial justice, human rights, exceptional clinical and/or professional leadership, research excellence, advocacy or midwifery education excellence.

  • Achievements and contributions that have had provincial, national, international or community-level recognition or significant impacts. This might include working to improve the lives of IBPOC, 2SLGBTQI+, immigrant, refugee and other equity-deserving communities.
  • Made a significant and ongoing contribution to their community and/or to the profession as a whole.
  • Enhanced the profession by consistently demonstrating commitment to high-quality standards that inspire others in the field.
  • Demonstrated leadership in the promotion of birth as a normal life event at the community, provincial, national or international level.

Current AOM members in good standing can submit nominations for this award, including self-nominations. Current AOM Board members and AOM employees are ineligible.

Nomination Criteria

Nominations for this award will be reviewed and marked based on the following criteria. Please provide as much information as you can about each of the four criteria, including concrete examples. You may also submit a copy of the nominee’s CV to help support the nomination. Each nomination will be scored out of 100.

  1. Achievements (20 marks). Catalogue as completely as possible the extraordinary achievements of the nominee in any of the following areas:

    • Indigenous health and/or Indigenous sovereignty

    • Racial justice

    • Human rights

    • Exceptional clinical practice

    • Exceptional clinical and/or professional leadership

    • Advocacy and promotion

    • Midwifery education and excellence and

    • Research excellence

  2. Impact of contribution (30 marks). Using concrete examples, explain the nature, degree and value of the nominee’s contributions that have made a major impact on the midwifery profession and how this stands out among other contributions. Include examples of the impact of the nominee's work at the community, provincial, national or international level and how/why they are long-lasting, recognized and respected by their peers or their community. Explain how the nominee has demonstrated a commitment to the highest standards and ideals of Ontario midwifery.

  3. Leadership (25 marks). Illustrate how the nominee has demonstrated leadership in the Ontario midwifery community, IBPOC community, and/or beyond. Illustrate how the nominee’s work and contributions to the field serve as a model that inspires others to excellence. Illustrate how the nominee has demonstrated leadership in promoting birth as a normal life event at the community, provincial, national or international level.

  4. Racial justice and human rights (25 marks). Illustrate how the nominee has demonstrated principles of racial justice and/or human rights in midwifery. Using concrete examples, describe how the nominee has incorporated these principles to achieve their accomplishments.

Nomination Selection

  • All submitted materials will be reviewed by the Health-Care Equity, Quality and Human Rights, Indigenous Midwifery, and Membership departments as well as the AOM Awards Task Force. The task force will then recommend an award recipient to the Board of Directors which will make the final selection. 

To be considered nominations can be completed online, submitted by email or by sending a request for an interview to Diana MacNab

Submissions must include: 

  • Nominee information
  • Nominator & seconder information
  • Explanation of how the individual meets the criteria for this award.

Don't know where to start? TMU offers some helpful tips for preparing a nomination package that are also applicable to the AOM nominations process.


Awards will be presented at the Ontario Midwifery Conference in 2024.

The deadline to submit nominations for this award is Dec 8, 2023.


Click for Application Package