Media Award

The Media Award recognizes a journalist/individual who has demonstrated excellence in raising public awareness of midwives, midwifery issues and midwives’ contributions to the health-care system in Ontario, Canada or internationally via print, radio, television and/or web-based media.


One entry per journalist/individual can be submitted for consideration if it meets the following requirements:

  • The work deals with the subject of Ontario, Canadian or international midwives or midwifery

  • The work has been published, distributed, produced or aired by a Canadian or international media outlet between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2023

  • The work is aimed at the general public or brings to attention critical issues impacting Indigenous and equity-deserving midwives or communities.

  • Work that was originally written, broadcast or produced in a language other than English is welcomed. A translation into English must accompany the submission.

Current AOM board and AOM staff members are ineligible for this award.

Nomination Criteria

AOM members, journalists or anyone who wishes to draw our attention to work that meets the criteria can contact the AOM's communications department with the media content they wish to submit for consideration. The following criteria will be assessed, and marks will be given based on the quality of the submission. Each nomination will be scored out of 100:

  1. Story provides relevant information about events affecting Ontario, Canadian or international midwives/midwifery issues. (25 marks)

  2. Story has the potential to positively influence public attitudes about midwifery or highlight issues that raise awareness and influence meaningful change in the profession. (25 marks)

  3. Story demonstrates accuracy in portraying midwifery in the context of reproductive and perinatal health. (25 marks)

  4. Story includes a quality of writing/reporting that is sensitive to the diversity of midwives’ and midwifery clients’ and world views. (25 marks)

Nomination Selection

AOM communications staff will select up to six pieces of media content for consideration per year. Nominations will then be reviewed by the Awards Task Force. The task force will then recommend an award recipient to the Board of Directors, who will make the final selection.


Awards will be presented at the Ontario Midwifery Conference in 2024.


This application deadline is January 2, 2024.


Click for Application Package